Bit of a mixed bag!

Yesterday I took part in the screening and to be honest, I really didn’t know what to expect. I didn’t know if I was going in the right direction with my edit or where everyone else was with their final edit. Luckily everyone seemed to be in the same boat. Some of the work I seen from my classmates was brilliant and I was so happy for them because everyone has been under pressure the past few months and to see it all coming together is amazing.

feedback

When my turn came I was slightly nervous but I had to keep reminding myself that it was only a screening and I still have time to fix things that people may not be sure on. After the rough cut had ended it was time for feedback….! All in all it was good. One of the main things that popped up was the fact that as the viewer watched it, they began to forget about the tattoos themselves which takes away from the whole point of the documentary. This was something I was willing to take on board because yes, the tattoos didn’t feature too much within their story but I wanted this documentary to focus mainly on the stories because I think that’s what people will connect with and that’s what I want to get across. I do agree that I need to incorporate tattoos into it more though which is what I will hopefully do in the introduction (which wasn’t completed for this screening).

Things I’ve taken from this screening/feedback session

  • Focus more on the tattoo’s as well as the stories
  • Don’t rush from one story to the next, allow some time for their story to absorb
  • Include more about Evan’s job when working in the olympics
  • Work on colour correction for Lisa’s interview shots

 

Leave a Reply

