Flashback!!

Think back to December 2014. Can you remember what you were doing? I was frantically trying to figure out how to film, edit and put together a documentary for a college assignment in the hope of getting a good grade. The result of this is my very first documentary, Tommy.

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-20-49-09

This was the very first piece of work I was proud to show off. It was the first time I realised my love of film and post-production. I know the fact that it is so very personal to me it is always going to have a special meaning to me but I remember the feedback from others saying how they too felt the emotion and they didn’t know my grandad on a personal level. This is what I want to try and achieve in my project. I want people to empathise with the people in my project even though they may not know them.

I enjoy looking back on this documentary from time to time because it reminds me of where I started and how far I have come in the past 2 years. I often doubt my abilities in filmmaking as I go through college even though it is my favourite part of the course, the area I hope to work in when I leave college and head out into the big bad world. And so, looking back on my previous work inspires me to continue forward, I can see how far I have come and I’m close to the finish line now, YOU CAN DO IT….!! (Yes, that is a quote from WaterBoy)

post-25179-you-can-do-it-gif-waterboy-img-jc2v

Leave a Reply

