Aaron and his Sister

Aaron is another person that has agreed to be part of my project and tell his story behind his tattoo. Aaron and his sister were both diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis (CF) at a young age. Unfortunately Aaron’s sister lost her battle and so he got a tattoo in remembrance to her. This is a topic that I know I will have to be very careful and patient when talking to him because it is such a heartbreaking part to his life and definitely something that means so much to him.

I thought it was important for me to know more about Cystic Fibrosis as I want to be able to talk to Aaron about his illness and have questions about it to ask him during the interview. I decided to visit Cystic Fibrosis Ireland website and find out more. It was devastating to see how many people in Ireland alone are effected by CF and how 50 new cases are discovered each year. I found out that it is an inherited disease that effects primarily the lungs and the digestive system and that many people don’t live past their teens but there are also many that live life to the fullest right up into their 50’s.

As I was going through more research I found out One Republic – I lived was inspired by a teen that suffers with Cystic Fibrosis and this video was a way of telling his story and raising awareness and funding for CF.

Leave a Reply

